IS IT REALLY MY TURN TO EAT??

Greedy2

Howdy there… welcome back to my hub/ my port in a storm. 🙂 Alright for starters if you missed my last post, you can find it here and by all means read on and Share. Man, it feels too good to be back. Its been a busy half year, a lot of challenges, set backs but the highlight of it all, the victories that i have tasted..still savoring them to this point. You know there’s no gain without pain or at least the adage says. Nothing comes without sweat.. even the Word speaks of this in 1st Timothy 5:18: ” Thou shalt not muzzle the ox that treadeth out the corn. And, The labourer is worthy of his reward.” i have learnt in the last couple of months, that you cannot sit and wait for blessings to come to you. Yes we have the faith and we have the assurance that God will bless us but We have to ASK!… HOW DO WE ASK? Prayer, petitions and supplication to our Heavenly Father. James 4: 3 is fundamental scripture when it comes to the asking bit and it says,  ” When you ask, you do not receive, because you ask with wrong motives, that you may spend what you get on your pleasures.” Let me clarify, God is not against you being successful and having wealth, the problem arises when we idolize the wealth and the countless other blessings that He has bestowed upon us. Now, Let me share with you my “money bags” story, Growing up, i always desired to be rich and have constant cash flow. Poverty for me was unfathomable. I felt that i needed to do everything humanly possible so as not to be poor and to be honest, I STILL DON’T WANT TO BE POOR! HAHA! The difference is this time around, i have set my sights on heavenly things. Anyways,I envisioned myself driving a Bentley, Cadillac, throw in a Mozerratti…* Watch yourself, My dreams are valid!* i dreamed of living in a humongous mansion resemblant to the ones i had seen in Holly wood. All i saw was myself dressed up in the finest of the finest attire, i mean switching from Donna Karan to Vivian West wood to Oscar de la Renta.  Girl had it ALL figured out, UNTIL one day,walking in the streets of Nairobi, God opened my eyes to see the hurting, the bruising world that i live in. I cannot count the number of times that I’ve walked across the street and seen a woman with 5 babies begging on the street, taking another turn, a sick man holding a sick child, the skin of this child visibly burnt to the point that his fragile bones could be seen, this case in particular brought me to tears. When the Lord exposes you to such  ghastly scenarios, there’s always a 360 degree turn around that happens, at least for me it did. I began to understand why i do not receive answers to my prayers quick enough.i do not receive because I am selfish. All  i think about is me,myself and I. Everything revolves around me. God had to deal with this part of me that was so hell-bent on getting rich. He showed me how much he valued our relationship and that He doesn’t want anyone or anything to take His place in my life. He helped me understand how He wants me to view wealth and hence why i share this post. These are some of the lessons that God has taught me along the way with regards to wealth. You know, we are so blessed that  we have  an amazing Loving Father who evidently takes time to help us understand important precepts of life such as these. He is teaching us how to ask, and when we receive, we must give back not only to HIM but even to society. His word in  1st Timothy 6:9-10  says ;

“People who want to get rich fall into temptation and a trap and into many foolish and harmful desires that plunge men into ruin and destruction. For the love of money is a root of all kinds of evil. Some people, eager for money, have wandered from the faith and pierced themselves with many griefs.”
Unfortunately this is true. We live in a society where the word “celebrity” and “socialite” are the order of the day. The youth of my generation have succumbed to the lie that is ” beauty sells, sex sells”nowadays, young women and men are giving away their morals all in a bid to buy Brazilian weaves and gold watches. It’s such a sad state of affairs but it is the truth.
as Christians though we need to understand that as much as we live in the world, we are not of the world. There is a great distinction between us and the world. Nonetheless, i don’t say this to condemn them that do these things because even i lived that life, had the same mindset but Christ changed it, He changed me. We are meant to be a light of this world and by the way we live, others should get attracted to the light that shines within us who is Jesus Christ.
 Material things then should not be my focus,  God should be THE ULTIMATE FOCUS. i have realized that i live in a “material world” where the distinctions are based on the social class that you belong to,how much money is in your bank account and my circle of friends who have to be wealthy and famous just so that i could get accepted.
 I have come to a place of realization that God is all I ever need in this world and everything else is supplementary.
This is my prayer for you too dear reader, that God will open your eyes to see past dollars, watches and wallets. I pray that we all come to the understanding that its the Kingdom of God that we need to fervently seek, then and only then will ALL OTHER things be added unto us..
May i emphasize, i am not against the affluent at all, if anything it’s proof to me that God does indeed bless, He rewards. He is not a respecter of persons. The word says that He lets the sun shine on both the Godly and Ungodly. He has no partiality. He loves ALL the same.
images
How Then Should We View Wealth?
I just bless The Lord because He is a God of excess. He does exceedingly, abundantly above and beyond all that we could ever ask or imagine. When He does give us that excess, we should view ourselves as custodians of that wealth. It is absolutely yours but He has a say in how you use that money.
How we treat wealth and success is a determinant on whether God can entrust us with more.
Let me give an illustration:
Joshua has been asking God for a car Audi Q7( shhhh..that’s my dream car 🙂 . He has fasted and prayed and God blesses him with the car. He drives himself around everywhere; at work, hospital, you name it. He is a regular church attender and he gives his tithe and offering.Now, there’s a wedding coming up and it involves a couple that is not well off. They make a request for people to lend to them their cars for the wedding.
The Holy Spirit nudges Joshua to give his car but pride sets in and he chooses not to.
Later on in the week, He gets into a car accident and the car is totaled.
The Bible in Mathew 16 : 26, which happens to be one of my favorite verses with regards to this subject says:
“What good will it be for someone to gain the whole world, yet forfeit their soul? Or what can anyone give in exchange for their soul?”
 Is money worth  your soul? the earth and everything in it is fleeting, they will all pass away but God’s word will remain forever. Stock up for yourself riches in heaven instead where the moths cannot reach. Set your eyes on the things above other than earthly things.
THINK ABOUT IT..
How much do you value your relationship with God? Is anything getting in the way of your relationship with him?
It could be money, relationships or even work..
These things end up becoming barriers to our breakthroughs and lead to us having broken relationships with God.
Check these things and choose who takes priority.
1175585_10200700744261234_1369375605_n
Love and Light
X Miss OwinyJaber X
Leave a Reply

